Permission to motorists traveling between Eritrea and Ethiopia

The National Bureau of the Yellow Card of Eritrea has announced that that it will, henceforth, accept and issue the COMESA Yellow Card to motorists traveling and from Ethiopia.


The COMESA Yellow Card Insurance Scheme (pictured) is a regional third-party motor vehicle insurance scheme that provides third-party legal liability cover and compensation for medical expenses resulting from road traffic accidents caused by visiting motorists. The main objective of the COMESA Yellow Card Scheme is to provide a minimum guarantee of compensation for third party road accident victims, as required by the law in force in the territories being visited or transiting through.


The National Insurance Corporation of Eritrea, which administers the Yellow Card confirmed today, that Eritrea, was ready to accept of COMESA Yellow Cards issued to Ethiopian motorists to Ethiopia on the Addis-Assab Corridor and other routes.


Following this development, COMESA has pledged full support on the implementation of the Yellow Card Scheme and other COMESA trade facilitation instruments. This includes engaging with the National Bureaux of Ethiopia and Eritrea to provide technical support to ensure the smooth operations of the scheme.


The scheme is currently operational in 12 COMESA member states, namely; Burundi, the Democratic Republic of Congo, Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Malawi, Rwanda, Sudan, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe as well as one non-COMESA member state, Tanzania.

Source: Eritrean Press

Share your thoughts on this post
%d bloggers like this:
Visit Us On TwitterVisit Us On YoutubeVisit Us On Instagram